Hiding Machiavelli

A blog about everything – well, almost everything

When Can You Call Yourself a Grownup?

Posted by Eric the Fruit Bat on April 10, 2009

I don’t feel like a grownup. It’s been 3 years since I finished college and I have been working for over a year, but I don’t feel like a grownup yet and I think that I should be grown up by now, shouldn’t I?

When do you get to call yourself a grownup?

Is it the moment you become old enough to drink legally? If so, then I grew up a 100 tequila shots ago.

Is it the time you graduate from college? I guess. The problem with that is, I was still living off my parents charity until about a year after college – so, that’s not the moment I grew up.

Is it the time you get your first job and start earning money? I have been earning money for almost 2 years now, but I still don’t feel grown up.

Some people say that they grew up early most probably because they had responsibilities at a very young age. I

 was never had to worry about responsibilities save for my grades. Sure, I worry about bills and deadlines today, but somehow I still feel like its all play – just play.

Is it when you have a family of your own? – if that’s the case, then I don’t think I’ll feel grown up anytime soon. I don’t have any plans of starting a family in the near future. Plus, I really don’t think having a family alone constitutes being grown up. I have two friends, they each have kids and yet, they’re still as immature as I am – if not more.

So, when can you tell you have finally grown up? More importantly, do we every really grow up or do we just pretend to be grownups?

Leave a Reply

 
